St Patricks Day themed Shortbread

The great thing about homemade bakes is there are low expectations for it to be 100% perfect. I tried to make St Patrick’s day themed shortbread in the shape of a shamrock but it all went wrong. Unfortunately, icing is my number 1 enemy. I’m fine up until the icing where it decides it’s going to be runny and then my cakes look like they’ve drowned. They’re not perfect but they have character and that’s most important.

Here are my not-so-perfect St Patrick’s day themed shortbread:

Shortbread

IMG_20170316_153247

Ingredients:

  • 160g Plain Flour
  • 60g Caster sugar
  • 115g Butter

Steps:

Using your fingers, rub together the ingredients till it resembles breadcrumbs. The breadcrumb size can vary. Squash together to form a dough. Wrap the dough in clingfilm and place in the fridge for 5 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180°C, fan 160°C, gas 4.

Lightly flour the surface. Take the dough out of the fridge, placing it on the surface. Rub some flour around a rolling pin and begin to roll out the dough. Roll the dough out to the thickness that you want. I used an old Nutella glass to cut out the shape. Cut out as many circles as possible and then re-roll the dough out to cut more.

IMG_20170316_205902

Lightly mark a circle with a knife, or something that’s going to leave a mark, a cross. Cut four small triangles along each of the lines, like in the picture. Smooth and round all the corners. I used a knife to help with this. Cut a smaller triangle in the middle of three of the segments. Again, smooth and round the edges. It will look like three mini hearts.  In the fourth segment, draw a shape of a stalk and remove the excess dough.

Repeat these steps for each circle.

Line a baking tray with baking paper. Tip- use a bit of butter to stick the paper onto the tray. Add the cut-out pieces to the tray, carefully so you don’t damage the shamrock. Sprinkle some sugar and/or a little flour on top.

Bake for 15 minutes, until just turning golden.

Leave to cool for a while.

Icing

Icing is my number one enemy. I think I use the wrong butter or put too much in but it always comes out a bit runny. I followed the buttercream icing from BBC food, changing it slightly:

  • 140g Butter
  • 280g Icing sugar
  • 1 tsp of milk
  • Green food colouring

To be festive, add green food colouring to the icing and mix. I also added some vanilla essence to the icing to give it a little flavour. As it was too runny, I felt the best way to use this to cover the top of the biscuit in the icing. So that’s what I did. And now they’re perfectly imperfect.

IMG_20170316_203956

P.S I know the icing is too light but the colouring I had was rubbish. I’m never going back to that shop again!

AC xo

Leave a Reply

