Beauty Hack Tested: Using Conditioner to Shave

The ‘use conditioner to shave your legs’ beauty hack has popped up everywhere in all the beauty hacks and shaving hacks. Curious me, in search for soft skin, decided to try it. In fact, I’ve tried it twice and this is what happened:

IMG_20170430_191232

First impressions:

I was a little apprehensive at first. I don’t have enough time to be taking up a new shaving routine that’s longer than the one I already have. I also didn’t want to be using the expensive conditioner that I use for my hair, for my legs. So, I used a Herbal Essences conditioner that was laying around.

In the Shower:

The moment came when I needed to pick up my razor, I took a deep breath and picked up the conditioner. I always use an exfoliating glove when I shave and I wasn’t sure whether it would still work but it did. I applied a little bit of conditioner onto the glove and continued with how I normally shave my legs. I noticed that the blade glided much more easily over my skin and I think I got a closer shave too. After I finished shaving, I washed the conditioner off my leg. Same with when using it for your hair, you only need a little bit of conditioner otherwise your legs will be slipping off each other, and we don’t want that. After that, I washed my body with my body wash and I also washed my legs too.

IMG_20170430_190614

The first time I tried this, I missed loads of patches but they came out soft, so it wasn’t a big deal to how it usually is when you miss a patch. The second time I tried this, I did it properly without missing any patches.

After the Shower:

My skin was noticeably smoother and softer, they also looked much better as well. They were a little shiny too (Yaasss, I got shiny smooth legs!!). I applied some moisturising cream to my skin afterwards and both times this didn’t effect the shininess or the smoothness.

Final impressions:

A few days later, my legs were still just as smooth. Even, the little bit of stubble that was there was soft and not it’s usual prickly self. My skin was a little dry but again, my legs were still that soft smooth feeling as before.

Overall, it was a fun experience and I really love the fact that my legs are soft and smooth even after a few days, even when I forget to moisturise. It does seem weird applying conditioner to my legs but it has improved my shaving experience and I feel more comfortable in my own skin and with my legs after a few days shaving. I used to shave every few days and I think with trying this new way, I wouldn’t feel the need to shave as much as I currently am.

 

So that’s my experience of testing out a beauty/ shaving hack. It was really fun and I’m so happy that it worked. I will definitely try this again and I would recommend *thumbs up*. If you are going to try this make sure you use a cheaper conditioner as it will save you from using and wasting your nice conditioner.

AC xo

Leave a Reply

