This Month I’m Reading…June Picks 2017

To say it’s been a long time since my last TMIR is a little bit of an understatement. I think my last TMIR post was my April picks. The reason why it’s taken so long to write another post is that I haven’t really been reading much apart from my literature texts and I didn’t think that would make an interesting blog post. But I’m back this month and for good!

IMG_20170611_155418

So my picks this month are some old favourites. I fell in love with these a few years ago and with the hot weather and awesome summer I have planned, I’m in the mood to read these again (you’ll see why). Unfortunately, my exams take up most of the month, so I’ll have to fit these in around them and my studying. Although, my creative writing teacher did say we had to read…

Here are my June picks:

IMG_20170611_155501

The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell

This is the first book in the series and I bought it in Ireland after I finished reading Summer and the City (the second book). I feel a little shameful because I can’t remember much about this one but I can remember that it was a very good book.

Carrie’s in her senior year of high school (that’s her last year, to us Brits). She has the perfect friendship circle and in walks Sebastian Kydd (even his name sounds hot!). This book is a coming of age story, full of drama, heartbreak and a girl with dreams. In this book we see Carrie’s love of writing develop and we get an insight into her younger years that helped shape the Carrie Bradshaw we’ve grown to love. This book is definitely worth a read.

IMG_20170611_155603

Summer and the City by Candace Bushnell

If you don’t know already, I LOVE Sex And The City. I love the fashion. I love the city. I love the friendships (goals, or what?). I love the drama. And I love Carrie! A few years ago, browsing the bookshelves of Waterstones, I came across ‘Summer and the City’. I pulled it from the shelf, hoping it was going to be interesting and maybe slightly related to Sex And The City. It turned out that was written by the same author and was actually a prequel. Yay me! for a great find! I read the blurb, the first page and a random page somewhere in the middle, and then I made the decision to buy it.

Although this is the second book in the series, I read this first and I think I like this one more. This book is about growing up and adulting when you leave home. Carrie moves out of her home to spend her summer in Manhatten taking a summer writing course before heading off to uni. It’s about friendships (we meet some of the girls), independence and there’s a little man drama. Although this is a teen book, I think there also suitable for young adults too.

The reason why I wanted to read this again is that, like Carrie, this is my last summer before I go off to university and I want to explore every part of London before I have to leave. You can tell by the title ‘Summer and the City’ that it makes a perfect summer read.

 

IMG_20170611_161955

The Carrie Diaries might sound like a familiar name and that’s because for two seasons it was a CW show. I’ve watched all the episodes and I’m a little obsessed, as my friends will happily tell you. I spent most of the time looking at Carrie’s clothes and Sebastian Kydd. (Austin Butler, though!) The show also made me fall in love with the fashionable side of the eighties and made me download Madonna’s ‘Like a Virgin’ (don’t even ask). It’s like Sex and the City that’s suitable for younger teens. I mean, I watched Sex and The City when I was younger but this is definitely more appropriate.

So those are my two picks for June and are the perfect books to set my summer off.

Back soon,

AC xo

One thought on “This Month I’m Reading…June Picks 2017

Leave a Reply

